Travel by Ferry (again)

IMG_1831
On board the M.V. Spokane traveling east across Puget Sound, from Kingston to Edmonds

One of the goals on my Life List is to travel by ferry again. As a teenager I had ridden a ferry, on a vacation to Put-in-Bay in Lake Erie. I wanted to travel by ferry again as an adult, on a working ferry.

I achieved this goal while in Washington. On Tuesday morning I arrived in Kingston and rode the M.V. Spokane east to Edmonds. Walk-on passengers boarding at Kingston do not have to pay fares. After walking through ferry’s passenger deck, complete with a cafeteria and plenty of seats, I spent the 30-35 minutes walking around the upper deck. I took plenty of pictures of the Puget Sound, of the water and boats, and some of the mountains not hidden in the day’s haze.

After arriving in Edmonds, I walked around town for about an hour. For the trip back, I paid an $8.50 one-way fare. I rode the Washington State Ferries’ other ship on the route, the M.V. Puyallup. It is a little bigger, with more enclosed seating. I did my walking tour and then stayed outside on the top deck on the way back.

I enjoyed the ferry rides: watching the vehicles load and unload the ferry, feeling the Sound’s winds. I’m not sure I will have the chance to travel this way again, so I am glad I took advantage this trip.

IMG_1846
From onboard the M.V. Spokane, this is the M.V. Puyallup traveling in the opposite direction.

Leave a comment